Frequently Called Numbers

Contact us at apsnews@apslearns.org if you have a question or need more information. 

Absences/tardies: Call school 

After-school care: Stancy Sykes, Family and Community Engagement, 330.761.1680, sls45869@apslearns.org

Akron After School: Karen Moore, 330.761.3038, kmoore2@apslearns.org

Akron Early College High School: Tom O'Neil, 330.972.6450, toneil@apslearns.org

Akron Plan: Chrissie McClure, 330.761.2735, cledford@apslearns.org

AkronReads: Stancy Sykes, Family and Community Engagement (FACE), 330.761.1680, sls45869@apslearns.org

Akron STEM High School: Dina Popa, 330.761.7965, dpopa@apslearns.org

APS Online: 330.761.3115

Ask Gilby®: Ryan Rittenhouse, Broadcast Communications, 330.761.3097, rdumont@apslearns.org

Athletics: Joe Vassalotti, 330.761.7988, jvassalo@apslearns.org

Board meetings: Ruth Solomon, Superintendent's Office, 330.761.2921, rsolomon@apslearns.org

Board members:

Board policies: General Counsel, 330.761.2911

Building construction, facility planning/capital improvement: Debra Foulk, 330.761.2805, dfoulk@apslearns.org

Building permits: Jennifer King, 330.761.2807, jking3@apslearns.org

Business Affairs: Debra Foulk, 330.761.2805, dfoulk@apslearns.org

Bus schedules: Bill Andexler, 330.761.1392, wba47178@apslearns.org

Child custody: Student Services, 330.761.2734

Child Nutrition: Laura Kepler, 330.761.1335, lkepler@apslearns.org

College and Career Academies of Akron: Rachel Tecca, 330.761.2779, rtecca@apslearns.org 

Communications: Mark Williamson, 330.761.2930, maw45602@apslearns.org

Counselors: Yvonne Culver, 330.761.3032, yculver@apslearns.org; or call school

Curriculum and Instruction:

Data/accountability: Howard Lawson, 330.761.2718, hlawson@apslearns.org

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI): Carla Chapman, 330.761.3297, cchapman@apslearns.org

Early Learning Program/preschool: Patricia Cronin, 330.873.3396, pcc45194@apslearns.org 

Expulsion/suspension referrals: Rebecca Jenkins, Student Services, 330.761.2742, rjenkins@apslearns.org

Gifted & Talented Programs: Megan Mannion, 330.761.3045, mmannion@apslearns.org

Graduation: Mark Black, Secondary Schools, 330.761.3079, mab15205@apslearns.org

Home Instruction: Terri Porter, 330.761.3181, tporter@apslearns.org

Homeschooling: Sondra Shephard, 330.761.2763, sshephar@apslearns.org

Human Resources: Kathy McVey, 330.761.2945, kmcvey@apslearns.org

Library/media services/gifted and talented: Megan Mannion, 330.761.3045, mmannion@apslearns.org

NIHF ... STEM High School: 330.761.7965

NIHF ... STEM Middle School: 330.761.3195

Open Enrollment: Marianne Malecky, 330.761.2810, mmalecky@apslearns.org

Police-in-the-Schools: Student Services, 330.761.2819

Post-secondary options: Mark Black, 330.761.3079, mab15205@apslearns.org; or call school

Proficiency/Ohio Graduation Testing, testing, research and evaluation: Patricia Agble, 330.761.3066, pagble@apslearns.org

Project GRAD Akron: Jacqueline Silas-Butler, 330.761.3056, jsilasbutler@projectgradakron.org

Project RISE: Shannah Carino, 330.761.2969, scarino@apslearns.org

PTA: Tanya Nicholson, www.akroncouncilofptas.org

Registration (K-12): call school

Report cards (K-12): call school

Safety Hotline: 800.418.6423, ext. 359

School assignment: Student Services, 330.761.2735 or 330.761.2742

School closings: Debra Foulk, Business Affairs, 330.761.2805, dfoulk@apslearns.org; or local radio stations

School Improvement: Kenya Harrington, 330.761.3111, klh46502@apslearns.org

School lunch/breakfast program: Laura Kepler, Child Nutrition, 330.761.1335, lkepler@apslearns.org

Security: Student Services, 330.761.2734

SOAR: Rebecca Green-Pallotta, 330.761.7971, rgreen3@apslearns.org

Special Education, transportation: Sherry Johnson, 330.761.3154, sjohnso2@apslearns.org or Vicki Feesler, 330.761.1393, vaf45768@apslearns.org

Special permits: Student Services, 330.761.2734

Specialty Programs: Tamiko Hatcher, 330.761.7933, thatcher@apslearns.org

Student behavior (disciplinary actions, Juvenile Court, suspension and expulsion referrals, truancy - appointments): Rebecca Jenkins, Student Services, 330.761.2742, rjenkins@apslearns.org

Student behavior (Code of Student Behavior): Student Services, 330.761.2734

Student behavior (Pupil Adjustment Program): Student Services, Erich Merkle, 330.761.2830, emerkle@apslearns.org

Summer School (Secondary): Secondary Schools, 330.761.3079

Summer School (Elementary): Elementary Schools, 330.761.3075

Superintendent: Christine Fowler Mack, 330.761.2920, cfowler-mack@apslearns.org

Television shows, Mark Williamson, Communications, 330.761.2930, maw45602@apslearns.org

Title 1: Kenya Harrington, School Improvement, 330.761.3111, klh46502@apslearns.org

Transcripts, current students: contact your school counselor

Transcripts, former students: 330.761.2927

Transportation: William Andexler, 330.761.1390, wba47178@apslearns.org

Volunteers: Stancy Sykes, Family and Community Engagement, 330.761.1680, sls45869@apslearns.org

WAPS 91.3FM The Summit: Tommy Bruno, 330.761.3095, tbruno@apslearns.org

Weapons: Student Services, 330.761.2734

Work permits: Sondra Shephard, Student Services, 330.761.2763, sshephar@apslearns.org

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.