Oversight Committees

Joint Board of Review

The Joint Board of Review makes recommendations to the Akron Board of Education and the city regarding site selection, design and construction of the Community Learning Centers (CLC) project, as well as any enhancements and changes to the Master Facilities Plan and the project.

The Joint Board of Review comprises 10 members: five members appointed by the Board of Education and five members appointed by the city.

The Board of Education appointed the following members to the Joint Board of Review: Bruce Alexander**, Patrick Bravo, Paul Flesher, Lisa Mansfield and Tim Miller. Alternates are: Rev. Dr. Curtis T. Walker Sr. and Debbie Walsh.

Akron City Council appointed: Diane Miller-Dawson, Michael Freeman, Marilyn Keith*, John Moore and Marco Sommerville.

**Vice Chairperson for 2016

Citizens Monitoring Committee

The city and the Board of Education appointed a 10-member Citizens Monitoring Committee (five members each) to monitor and report to the community regarding the expenditure of funds collected under the CLC Ordinance or received from the state for the project.

Membership in the Citizens Monitoring Committee is currently being determined. The Joint Board of Review will consider nominations and approval of the membership to this committee when both sides agree on the final list of names and that list is voted upon, hopefully during the summer of 2016.